First serious attempt at scanning with POP2

Hi everyone,

I’m very glad to see that this scanner has such an active community, so I decided to share also my personal experience.

I am a mechanical engineer and my intention is to use the POP2 as a reverse engineering tool. So far I have experience scanning with a xbox kinnect DIY scanner, which was interesting as a DIY project but the results were completely useless for any kind of reverse engineering project. Professionally I also have used point clouds from high-end professional scanners, so I kind of have some experience with both extremes of the scanning spectrum.

I received my POP2 few days ago and I tried some quick scans which straight away surprised me a lot for the high quality of the final mesh. Yes, it might not be as easy to use as an articulated arm scanner, but for a ridiculous fraction of the price, with some preparation and good technique, I think the final results are really close to what you can expect from a professional high-end scanner.

For my first attempt I decided to try to scan the back of a BMW e90 headlamp. It’s representative of the type of things I want to scan, and it’s challenging enough to understand the limitations of the scanner.

During the first attempt I realised that it struggles with black shiny plastics, so I decided to start again by cleaning the part and using some dry shampoo.

Cleaning the part:

(Continue in the next post due to the links limit for new users)

1 Like

Adding some dry shampoo:

Scanning the part

The first general scan:

1 Like

It struggled to get all the details in some complex areas:

So far, this is what I got directly from RevoScan, without any additional mesh processing. To get these results it took me less than 40 minutes.

I decided to make some detail scans of some particular areas, to test the alignment tool of the RevoStudio: