Texture Merged Scans

Hi, I am relatively new to 3D scanning and I just downloaded the new revo scan 5 beta version for my pop 2. Now i scanned a few scans of the same model and merged them, but after merging i can only mesh construct the merged model and not texture it. Does anyone now why this is the case and how i can solve this?

1 Like

At this moment it is impossible to create textures after the scans are merged .

I would suggest you use the RGB data from the merged scan and convert it to textures using other programs like Mesh mixer or Zbrush or Blender .

That are all options you have at this point .

2 Likes

Then I will try doing that, thanks!

1 Like

I really hope the texturing of merged objects will be available in the future … crossing my fingers :crossed_fingers:

5 Likes

+1 for merged texture support, that would be great.

4 Likes

Yeah, that just made all my partial scans basically invalid. Would be a very good feature

2 Likes

I am surprised that there is not remapping function after merging the scans , because there is remapping function with a single scan .
And since the project have all access to the needed data and files in their folder it should be not big issue to add the function , it may take much longer time to remapping the merged scans compared to a single scan but always better than nothing .

Even an RGB to Color textures converter function would be already better than nothing as you would get at least automatic UVs and pretty good color reference textures .

Personally I am getting around 7x7 K color textures from the merged scans from RS5 what is almost double the size than regular textures created on a single scan when converting RGB to Textures in Zbrush . But if you want to keep the RGb data at maximum , you need to fuse it and mesh at the highest quality to preserve as much points as possible, since each point represents a color pixel .
More points, higher texture resolution .

2 Likes