Scan quality poor?

I tried to scan a button, it is 5 cm in diameter and has engraved logo (3mm wide - 1 mm deep)

Since it has a Dark surface I used 3D spray

This is the scan result in ‘Near’ mode and highest quality, I used the turntable to scan.

Anyone with some experience on scanning this smaller object?

First of all why you used half of the can on it ? :joy: You should just slightly matte the surface , frosting …not avalanche
Don’t waste too much resource, not nesesery.

You need to put the button a slightly on an an angle , make sure your distance is not more than 16 cm from the center of the object , scan only one 369 degrees.
After that use Advanced mode fusing at 0.2 , after fusing clean ( lose points, Overlapped points ) after that mesh it at the Grid level what is 0.20 ( that maybe around 4-5 meshing level )

And you should get perfect result like that below …

Coin_Miraco_PUTV_1fc3b04958

3 Likes

Don’t laugh I’m a newbie :wink:
Thanks for the tips I will give it a go!

I am not really laughing from you, just joking … you have completely right to do things wrong , there is not shame in it …

Everyone was there once before , so take your time and if anything ask !

1 Like

When I come closer than 30 cm I get in the ‘Too Near’ zone, when I get in the ‘Excellent’ green zone (>30cm) and start recording the scanning object jumps around and somtimes turns red?

At a certain point the camera hanges and I had to restart?

Because you are using a Far mode , Far mode starts from 30cm , the best accuracy of Far Mode.

If it turns red it means you lost tracking , you do not recording anything , you need to pay attention in the Depth Cam view that you don’t get out of the FOV while scanning , go slowly and don’t jump suddenly from one spot to another , your scanned object need features for tracking … if there is less features use a Standard mode or use the High speed mode if your object is big like 2 meters …