Can Range or Mini work directly in Lightwave 3D?

Does anyone know if the scanners can be used directly in Lightwave 3D? They had some software that worked with Kinect 1.0 and I was curious to see if it could be used there. I’m very new to scanning and looking at workflow options while I continue to learn more about it…

I don’t believe so and wouldn’t make much of sense as scanning software has to be highly adapted to the hardware(3d scanner) and you have to do the point cloud editing (often including aligning and merging more scan) before getting a good mesh to work with within Lightwave. so better stick to revoscan (upcoming version 5 makes the workflow very easy) and than export the mesh to Lightwave.

1 Like

thanks, I’m looking forward to seeing the new software!

1 Like

Please check this preview, too!

POP2 and MINI are not Kinect type 3D scanners , they are 3D structured light scanners so no they will not work on any other software without the original core codes and algorithms.

The new upcoming RS5 , will allow you to edit and scan things at once in only one software and export it to Lightwave after for future mesh editing . Much easier than before …

Back in the day when the company I worked for, Datacopy, (later Xerox Imaging Systems) introduced the first digital cameras and desktop scanners. The integration with all the software programs then available was a major problem but there was a solution.
A common interface description was developed in conjunction with the software companies. When that was done, the integration task with software packages was much easier for both the hardware and the software companies.
We also proposed the TIFF file format which was quickly adopted by the graphics industry. Very few companies stuck with proprietary image file formats without also supporting The Tag Image File Format (TIFF).

1 Like