Workflow/Texture

Hi there,
i am a complete rookie in 3d-scanning and got me a mini in order to scan archaeological finds, especially pottery sherds.
As for now, scanning with the mini works, but I have a lot of questions.
First one:
i have to do front- and backside of my sherds, or up- and downside.
Mostly i put them on a heap of plasticine, scan 360 degrees, turn it upside down and scan again 360 degrees. Then i cut off the parts with the plasticine an merge.
Is this the best way or are there better ones?
Second one:
when i merge two scans, afterwards there is no option to apply texture anymore. But when I apply texure on the separate scans, after merging the texture is gone and no option to apply again.
Revoscan 5.
Apologies for my English, i’m German.
Thanks for Help!

2 Likes

Hi @Archaeoscan.by if you generate textures and later merge , there are only point cloud left without anything , point cloud do not support UVs or Textured so you can’t have it after merging .

You better merge the point cloud before meshing it so you have RGB color that you can convert to textures in other app like Blender or Zbrush for example .

It is impossible to generate textures after merging 2 point clouds since you get complete new object , if there was a way to generate textures from merged scans , it would take so long that is simply inefficient.
Even Cloud Compare don’t support texturing after merging point clouds because next step after merging a RGB point clouds, is extracting color textures and for that you need another program for editing models, UVs and textures .

Hopefully that function will be added in the future but it is not an easy task , they could at least add RGB to Textures what would be faster processing .

Regarding your merging workflow , it is just the way you do … as that is a very good workflow.

1 Like

thanks a lot!
I will try…
next question: