MINI - Can't seem to get the texture right

Hi there!
I’ve been playing around with the Revopoint Mini for a few days. Although the meshing seems quite fine, I can’t seem to get a good texture out : it’s very pixellated from up close, looks dirty and full of triangles (see the capture). Is there something I’m doing wrong? Other than not having quite an homogenous lighting which creates color changes within the texture…

I’m kind of new to structured-light scanning, so any advice would truly be welcome :slight_smile:

Thanks,

Popi

1 Like

To have better results you need proper light , and this part is tricky with MINI as it don’t like too much light to begin with.

The best are the LED sold by Revopoint , avoid cold light color LEDs .

Then you have to scan all the angles proper at slightly slower rotation .
How more angles you capture how better results you will get with the textures .

However do not expect a picture quality in your textures , it depends of the amount of triangles and points .

To get little better quality you can try capture just RGB color per vertex data , mesh the fused point cloud and export it as ply or obj , and create new textures from it in another program .
You will get slightly better quality .

Here is my own workflow

You can see my process in Zbrush
But you can use MeshLab or Blender to do that as well .

Revo Scan texture mapping is not ideal , it never was from the beginning anyway.

1 Like

Hey there, thank you very much ! I’ll give that a try.

However I’m still kind of perplexed… The people showing their work in this thread seem to get MUCH better results without going through an external software… How do you explain it?

Moreover, I’ve stopped using the turntable for objects about 5cm : it creates way too much problems.

Thank you !

That are not good results , that are just fragments , MINI textures of flat objects always looks better , but to get it on full 3D object is a different story .