New user asking for hints, guidelines, regarding retro-engineering

Hello there,

I’m brand new to revopoint, and to 3D scan also. I bought an Inspire scanner last week, and scanned two parts right now.

I’m pretty impressed by the ease of use and staightforwardness of RevoScan.

Anyway, I feel I need some advice or hints to get better scans.

I’m using my Inspire scanner to retro-engineer motorcycle parts, the final goal being to adapt new parts to (or modify) existing parts.
Surface details or fine texture are absolutely not needed. What is the most important for the purpose is getting parts features the most precisely located.
For my two first scans, I made about 10 to 12 partial scans that I first fused, cleaned, and then merged two by two. Between each merge, I cleaned again the result.

What is the best way to get the most accurate scan? (like merging more scans at one time, cleaning after merging, etc)
Also, I relied solely on feature for tracking. Is it better to use markers?

Many thanks,
Thomas

1 Like

Hi Thomas

Welcome to our community
I think you did great job , that is the best way to get the most accurate results by scanning many angles and merge them .

Scanning using features is great if your objects have enough of features , marker mode replace the needs of features so it relay on markers only … Features give you more accurate tracking .

Best results you get if you keep the distances as much as possible closer to each other , for example if you scan with excellent distance , keep everything else in excellent distance , changing it may affect the accuracy .

I believe you did great job already , the best learning curve is by trial and errors as each object needs individual approach and solution .

1 Like

For large items, we recommend mixing isopropanol + baby powder in a large spray bottle and then spraying it on. This doesn’t cost much and avoids reflections

Many thanks for your answers.