Mini Proper Size Export

Hello All. I am using the mini to scan model kit pieces to reverse engineer them. I am still learning of course but for some reason I cannot get the pieces to export out at the proper size. Something that is .760 inches tall is exporting out of Revo Scan at 67 Feet tall! Now I have never gone through the process of calibrating the unit but from my understanding I should not have to?

Can someone help tell me what i possibly could be doing wrong?

Thanks

What format are you exporting? Export as PLY or OBJ to get the actual units / scaling correct.
If you are exporting as stl it doesn’t define the units. So, if an object is 100mm tall, its size is 100. The units are defined by the workspace you are importing it in to. Import to an Inch workspace and it will be 100 inches tall.

I am exporting out as both .ply and .obj. Even importing into fusion 360 its off.

What units is your workspace set to in Fusion 360? It needs to be mm.

Units in fusion are set to millimeters. Output of the obj files is over 543mm which is over 5 feet.

What is really weird is one of my 3d printing software’s loads it almost correctly.

All Revopoint scanners output in mm.

in Fusion 360 check that your default units are set to mm

if they are not it could do some strange things

I normally export as .stl and don’t have any problems in CAD but I’m always using metric units unless I have to use inches then I just input the dimension in the box followed by inches and the software does the conversion for me :slightly_smiling_face:

Thanks for the responses. I have Fusion set at mm but it still imports larger than it should be. Even an exported .stl. I’m using the scanner for model parts but at the moment i can adjust on the fly. The .obj and .stl files import into my 3d print programs close but its still off dimensionally. I can adjust since i do not need a perfect representation i’d just like to try and understand why it’s exporting out wrong.