Merging scan data with revoscan 5.3.0 and pop3 scanner

Hello everyone,

I’m relatively new to using the Revopoint POP3 scanner, so please bear with me if this question seems basic.

I’ve been following some tutorials, including this one: link to tutorial. In the tutorial, I noticed that there’s a setting for the range scanner that simplifies combining the top and bottom portions of the scanned object.

Now, I’m attempting to do the same with a POP3 scanner using Revoscan version 5.3.0. Specifically, I have conducted two scans of a pair of safety glasses, capturing both the top and bottom parts. However, when I reach the screen shown below, I’m struggling to manually align the models so that the software recognizes them as a single part and aligns the data accordingly. Can anyone provide guidance on how to achieve this?

Background Information: I work as a freelance industrial designer, and I’m currently working on a project that involves designing custom safety glasses. To accomplish this, I’d like to scan several dozen models available in the market at medium to high resolutions. My goal is to compile a comprehensive data bank that I can refer to when creating prototypes and conceptual designs.

Any assistance or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Hi!
It cannot be aligned because temples don’t look the same on both scans! So either rescan and take care the whole object stays the same when scanning different sides or cut of point clouds where something changed/moved prior to using the alignment function.
cheers!

Hi @Mikemathe you need to clean your scans before you merge them , remove all fragments that do not belong to the actual scanned object ( the dots are the issue ) , other way there will be not successful merging since both scans don’t match the volume or features .