Making Christmas Baubles from INSPIRE Head Scans

My little contribution to the #revoxmas23 contest over on Facebook.
[Little bit of a back story behind this one…]
So at this festive time of year, I occasionally print out little replicas of my head, spray them gold or silver and hang them on people’s trees when I visit for parties. Then I just leave and not say anything about it, and when they ring up days (or weeks) later saying they’ve just found my head on their Xmas tree, I act like they’re mad.
You know. It’s the little things.
Anyway, pretty much all of my friends and family know what I do for a living so this kind of prank loses a little of it’s impact… so instead I now scan friends of mine, who have zero to do with 3D or scanning, and get them to prank their friends and family instead!
So here’s my two chosen subjects for this years - my buddies Leon and Raj, and their festive doppelgangers…
Scanned with a Inspire - literally just stuck it in my pocket along with a Revopoint mobile kit when I went over for a cuppa. They didn’t even know I was going to scan them. No prep - just got them to stick a hat on to cover most of the hair… we’re all getting old and grey enough not to have to worry too much anyway…
Xmas hat was a nightmare. Totally messed up - shoulda have just got hold of one that isn’t furry. But I just had to work with what I had. Lots of cleaning up. Never again. Looks cool though.
Initial processing in Revo Scan 5, then took the data into Artec Studio 9 and Headus PlyEdit.
Then took the watertight mesh into Chitubox and hollowed it out and punched a big hole in the neck, and also a little 3mm hole(s) for threading the cord.
I let Chitubox sort the medium supports - I could probably have spent some time refining them a bit, but couldn’t really be bothered. They worked, anyway! And came off fairly easily without too much cleanup at all.