Complete Novice using a Minie help needed

I am struggling to get a decent scan using the mini and the new dual axis turntable, 1st thing is it advisable to use a light box, also when i start a scan there is a delay turntable does not start strait away I think the frames are up to 60 before it starts rotating is this a problem would I be better off with the turntable in manual mode perpetually rotating…

with it having a blue light is this more susceptible to light

just trying to get my head round where im going wrong, the bust scans, but not great and other things i’ve scanned white plastic clip used for pluming is not great, quiet a simple plastic item I thought the scanner would cream…at moment I cant see how it would scan say small high detailed model…

advise and help appreciated…

Mini doesn’t like ambient light. I get the best scans when the environment is quite dark.

Make sure you have the exposure in the bottom camera preview so that it shows just a little bit of red, or no red. Too much red is overexposed. Too much blue is under exposed.

Keep the scanner at around 10cm from the thing you are scanning for the most detail.

The turntable is kind of bad at the moment with the Revoscan control. The best thing to do is use the Android app for the turntable that’s written by some members of this forum. You will be able to control it much better until Revopoint release the next Revoscan with manual control. Once I started using the app, I had much more success with the Mini.

All I can say is keep practicing. You will learn what works and what doesn’t. 3D scanning is complicated and requires perseverance. I’ve yet to use a 3D scanner that I could just pick up and get great results with without spending a considerable amount of time getting to know how to get the best of it.

Can you post a screenshot of your scan of the bust?