About textures quality

Hello everyone,

As a 3D artist i’ve been doing photogrammetry since a few years now (from times to times only), with a Sony a7 iii and a mavic pro ii. I’ve been discovering the Pop 2 through ads recently and i’ve been watching every youtube videos and topic i could find, but I’m still lacking very precious informations and detailed reviews.

I’m hesitating today because it seems the final texture quality seems to be very pixelated/blurry. My use would be mostly outdoors for scanning rocks and trees trunks, dead wood, surfaces , floors…
I need the asset to be Professional quality to use it in virtual production environment creation.

So far I have no idea about the final exported texture resolution. I read somewhere that using handheld with smartphone connected can use its camera source and get better texture but never saw it in reviews and video tests.

Would you recommend it ? Can you give me more specifications about texture and mesh quality ?

Thank you!

Hi! Check uploaded scans on sketchfab. Both for high quality texture scanningand outdoor scanning you will have to look at other (much pricier) scanners, I am afraid. :confused:

I have not had any luck scanning in sunlight. Since it’s infrared the sun messes with it.

@Wanderboy Don’t bother with this scanner, it will not meet your needs. The exported texture resolution is quite bad quality, very blurry with no fine details (2048 x 2048). See my topic link here about texture quality. For a clear example, look at the tiger picture and compare the stripes to the original object. You will see how blurry they look. Revopoint 3D A higher megapixel camera on POP 2?

Also, check out this link with actual sample files which contain the texture maps. Photogrammetry will give you far superior textures. From Youtube beta tester, sehertest
Revo pop 2 scan sample files