Why is this so difficult?

I think I’m starting to lose my mind with the POP2. I’ve read just about everything I can and watched every “tutorial” video on scanning with the POP2, but I can’t seem to find a problem. All of the videos and written tutorials are quite basic…I’ve tried everything I can think of and tried tons of different objects and get the same results.

I’ve tried every lighting condition I could as well as tweaking the camera settings. It doesn’t matter what I do…the second the scanner moves or the object turns the tracking runs off into nowhere. I’ve attached a screenshot to illustrate. Although I am a 3D scanning noob, I’m generally quite stellar with technology. I’ve made my living in IT, automation, and CNC technology. However, I just can’t seem to get started with the POP2…

That are tracking issues , 3D Light structure scanners relay on object features for tracking ,
add some other small objects to your scanned area or use marker mode for objects without features .

If you want to scan handheld , add more objects around and problem will be solved , on turntable you can use marker mode for best results .

It is simple , once you try you will know.
Also please download Calibration software from the forum Starting Point/Download section and make Calibration test to see if you get results below 0.09000 just to be sure your device is working fine.

1 Like

Interesting. I have seen that in pictures, but nothing really explaining it. That makes sense.

I will try the calibration as well. When I was reading about it, I thought the thread said it’s NOT recommended to calibrate a new scanner, but at this point I have nothing to lose.

I’ll give it a shot. Thank you.

it is always recommended to do a Calibration Test first… some people run direct to Calibration without actually checking , some scanners get bad while shipping due to shaking and dropping of the packages so you have to make a test to be sure.