Revopoint MINI Scan Challenges

I received my evaluation unit of the MINI a couple of days ago. For some background, this is my first time using a 3D scanner, but I have have years of experience with 3D printers, CAD, and CNC machining. I assumed, incorrectly as it turned out, that it would work well for the applications I had in mind. So I immediately jumped into reverse engineering a part on my small lathe.

That resulted in a less than useful scan:

Some research later and I realized I needed to get something like the AESUB sprays (I have a can on order). I also decided I should start simpler and work my way up. I tried the bust that came with the scanner, and it worked perfectly. The results were great and fairly detailed.

Next I decided to try a model train box car. That didn’t go well at all. Since I haven’t received the AESUB spray (it will probably take about a week), I used foot powder spray and that certainly made a large difference. However, the results I’m getting are not of the quality I was expecting from this scanner:

I’m hoping it’s because I’m making one or more mistakes that can be correct. However, I’m concerned that it might be a mismatch between what I’m trying to do and the abilities of this scanner and software. For example, given the small size, it doesn’t seem to like marker mode (do I need to add more markers to the table?). And when I use feature mode, it easily loses tracking, which means I’m not able to perform multiple scans at different heights without it getting the alignment wrong.

Here is the setup to give you an idea of the scale (in inches):

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
– John
https://youtube.com/c/johnsl

1 Like

Hello, for better analysis, could you provide the point cloud file about this model train box car to us?

I sent a link to the file via email.

Hi, we have processed your point cloud file by Revo studio and we found something problem. So we can provide some advice to you to improve the scanning quality.